Tags

, ,

Greetings from summer at my house where the kids are playing outside until dark, baseball and softball games have started, the house looks like a craft store exploded, and aside from the occasional McBickerson routine, the sisters are loving these lazy days of summer together. Even our feathery and furry children are getting along.

With carpools on hiatus and more time in the day, I decided to try my hand at this fishy hat pattern. The yarn I chose from my stash is a combo of 100% cotton Bambini (Lang Yarns) and Mandarin Petit (SandnesGarn) cotton yarn. It’s knit entirely in the round on size US 3 wooden double point needles. With a cast on of only 90 stitches it’s crazy off-gauge for a hat, but that’s ok. I have plans to turn this into a fish toy/baby gift. After searching the internet for the perfect fish toy pattern, I just couldn’t find anything that measured up to this hat’s “fishy cuteness.” It’s a bit of an experiment so I will have to see how it goes. So far I love the color combo and the pattern is well-written, super fun and quick. This is two nights of Late Night here on the needles:)

The other great summer news is that I finally finished Mom’s Lorna’s Lace’s socks that I have been working on since February.  I decided to switch sock patterns and use the one that my Mom has used a thousand times. It’s a free pattern and it can be found here. Good thing I didn’t knit them for my model! After a trip through the handwash and some blocking, they will be ready for winter action in Kansas.

I hope to be adding another project soon! My goal this summer is to work through some of my stash yarn…famous last words from the world’s biggest yarn hoarder! Hopefully you are enjoying your summer as well and you will share your WIPS with me!

